top of page


recognizing those who help make Mona Shores Public Schools a leader in educational experiences for our students.

Attention Students, Parents, Staff, and Community Members:

Do you know a Mona Shores employee who

  • Is exceptional?

  • Is inspiring students or co-workers?

  • Always gives their all?

  • Made a difference in a student’s life?

  • Deserves to be recognized in front of their peers? 


If you can answer yes to these questions, then you may have a candidate for the Mona Shores Education Foundation  Excellence Award. The Mona Shores Education Foundation will up to five awards to our district employees.  

Nominations for the 2018 - 2019 Awards are being accepted now.  Please submit your nomination here:



Nominations will be accepted through August 3, 2019.  Nominations may be submitted by any student, parent, staff or community member.  Nominations may be mailed to MSEF 121 Randall Rd Norton Shores, MI 49441.


Teaching Staff 

  • Inspires students of all backgrounds and abilities to learn.

  • Has the respect and admiration of students, parents and colleagues.

  • Plays an active and useful role in the community, as well as in the school.

  • Has a minimum of seven years of successful teaching experience.


Support Staff 

An employee in one of the following work classifications:  transportation, maintenance, custodial, office personnel, security, food services, professional support to teachers – including para educators and others providing educational support, health services group, etc.,

  • An exceptionally dedicated, knowledgeable, skilled member of support staff.

  • Goes above and beyond the call of duty.

  • Supportive of the learning environment.

  • Plays an active and useful role in the community.

  • Minimum of seven years of successful experience in his/her current position.

2017 - 2018

Nick Bronsema, Steve Morell, and Megan Schiller

2016 - 2017 

Jason Boyden, Pam Nason, Sheryl Vanderlinde, Jeff VanDyke, and Jolyn Walek

2015 - 2016

Kimberly Bradshaw, Nichole Butterfield, Kristi Eigenauer, Kathy Hellmann, and Mike Reinhardt

2014 - 2015

Leigh Eckerman, Rhonda Grevious, Colleen Hoffer, Kristin Johnson and Marc Miedema

2015 Excellence in Service winner, Andy Hogston


2013 - 2014

Karen Ayers, Judy Breting, Terri Bullerman, David Droski, Mary Poort and Shari Ralston


2012 - 2013

John Brainard, Annette Curtis, Katie Fallert, Lori Foley, Pam Matthews, Amy Recor  


2011 - 2012

Jennifer Adams, Cindy Backstrom, Sarah Busken, Cheri Kimball, Beth Prentice, Scott Volkman

2010 - 2011

Beth Cotner, Sherry Essenberg, Pam Schelhas, Megan Warren

2009 - 2010 

Tracey Fritz, Linda Griffith, Dacia Leroux, Chad Pranger,

Danielle Smith-Walker



Debra Cabot, Shelley Jensen, Kris McKinley, Susan Potter, Karen Szpeinski



Sue Carlson, Norma Chancellor, Keith Sauter, Les Tillema, Ninette Verstraete



Linda Boedy, Barb DeHorn, Carrie Helmer, Char Ingersoll, Elizabeth Laubac, 



Thomas Fielstra, Julie Flanagan, Barb Mullally,

Gayla Powers, Michele Marine



Linda Cline, Shawn Lawton, Carol Ross, Heidi Sunderhaft



Connie Bruce, Janice Sieplinga, Phil Veach, Karen Vuurens



Nancy Butterfield, Susan Lorey, Carol Priebe, Susan Schiller



Sally Fairfield, Camille Gabris, Ron White, Sue Zack 



Arleen Bisson, Fran Boyden, Gale De Kleine, Gail Jelier



Marilyn Hamilton, Jim Tanis, Laura Thurlow, Joan Wiersma


Awards were not presented in 2004 and 2006-2008.

Excellence Award Recipients

bottom of page